Italy beat England 3-2 on penalties to clinch Euro 2020

Italy beat England 3-2 on penalties to clinch Euro 2020

Italy beat England 3-2 on penalties to clinch Euro 2020

Azzurri won their second European championship and first after 53 years

Italy have thrashed England’s dream of winning their first-ever Euros by beating the Three Lions on penalties after the game finished all square after extra time.

England and Italy went into the final with their respective unbeaten streaks of 12 and 33 matches, with Roberto Mancini’s men, maintained a record of never losing to England in any competitive tournament.

This was England’s first-ever major final in 55 years and also their first final appearance in the history of this competition, while Italy were playing their fourth final of the Euros.

Gareth Southgate’s team entered the final with one the best defense in the tournament having conceded just one goal before the final and started the game brightly in front of their home crowd at the Wembley Stadium.

Luke Shaw put England ahead in the second minute of the game when he scored his first-ever international goal, a stunning volley after a perfect cross from Kieran Trippier, a move started by Harry Kane.

Italian found the rhythm in the game after conceding an early goal and move showed the fluidity with their passing but lacked in breaking their opponents’ resilience.

Juventus defender Leonardo Bonucci equalised in the 67th minute of the game for the Azzurri’s after finishing from the close range of a corner to give some relief to their fans behind the goal.

Either team failed to score in the normal time means the match went to the penalty shootout to decide the winners and only the second time in the history of the competition that the winners would be decided via penalties.

Marcus Rashford struck the goal post and Gianluigi Donnarumma saved the penalties of Jadon Sancho and Bukayo Saka means Italy were confirmed the winners of Euro 2020.

Fernando Bernardeschi, Leonardo Bonucci and Domenico Berardi all scored their penalties for their team.

After losing to Spain in the final of Euro 2012, Italians reached another final in nine years and beating the Spaniards en route to their final. Roberto Mancini’s side has finally found their mojo after failing to qualify for the 2018 Fifa world cup in Russia.

Gianluigi Donnarumma was named Player of the Tournament after playing a major role in his team’s title-winning run and saving two important penalty kicks in the final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.